Thursday, September 26, 2024

2024 Benjamin Franklin Awards Celebration


Cecelia Gore and John Gurda

for their significant contributions to literacy and lifelong learning.

CJ frame

What is the Benjamin Franklin Awards Celebration?

The Benjamin Franklin Awards Celebration, an annual fundraiser benefiting the Milwaukee Public Library, takes place each fall to celebrate literacy and lifelong learning. This one-of-a-kind event at the Wisconsin Club will be one to remember. It will start with cocktails, appetizers, live music and will end with an awards program, and live auction including unique experiences.  — not to mention savory dinner stations, decadent desserts, and a hosted bar. The Benjamin Franklin Awards Celebration draws over 500 library lovers each year, and we hope you will be among them this year!

2023 Benjamin Franklin Awards Celebration Janet McMillan Photography 16

Why I Support Milwaukee Public Library Foundation


"Growing up in Milwaukee, both Sue and I were raised in families that greatly valued reading and learning. So I have loved to read my whole life and our local library was always a very special place to me. Books are a wonderful window into the world of knowledge, history and so many stories about human achievement. Libraries open all those windows to us and deserve our ongoing appreciation and support. Sue and I are proud to receive this award and to support one of the finest library systems in the world right here in our hometown."

Sue and Bud Selig
2019 Benjamin Franklin Award Recipients

Past Honorees

1989 - Harold W. Schwartz

1990 - Patrick Cotter

1991 - Fritz Gerlach

1992 - Howard Fuller

1994 - Frank Pelisek

1995 - Sue Ann Thompson

1996 - Jack Mac Donough

1997 - Betty Quadracci

1998 - Mayor Norquist & Common Council

1999 - Jane Bradley Pettit

2000 - Marianne Lubar

2001 - Michael Bolger

2002 - Jim Wigdale, Brother Bob Smith

2003 - Sister Joel Read

2004 - Harry Franke

2005 - Journal Communications, Steve Smith Chairman of the Board & CEO

2006 - The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation (Michael W. Grebe)

2007 - Northwestern Mutual, Edward J. Zore

2008 - Lucile Krug, Chris Bauer, Kate Huston Raab

2009 - Robert Mariano

2010 - The Richard and Ethel Herzfeld Foundation, Gale Klappa

2011 - George Will

2012 - Paul E. Purcell

2013 - Mark and Debbie Attanasio

2014 - Dr. Mary Kellner, Faye McBeath Foundation

2015 - Greg Oberland, Mary Meehan

2016 - The Milwaukee Bucks

2017 - Senator Herb Kohl, Don Rosanova

2018 - Jay and Madonna Williams

2019 - Sue and Bud Selig

2020 - Milwaukee Public Library Heroes

2021/2022 - Arthur Harrington, Dr. Joan Prince

2023 - John W. Daniels, Jr., Rotary Club of Milwaukee

Your Support Builds a Stronger Community

Give to the Milwaukee Public Library Foundation